I LEFT MY HEART AT BOROUGH MARKET

This was probably one of my favorite days in London. I got up early one Saturday (early weekend mornings were my favorite because all of the infamous hustle and bustle of big cities is no where to be seen and it’s just quiet and the weather is cool) and headed to Borough Market, one of many food markets in London (I guess we’d call them Farmers Markets in Missouri).

Oh what I wouldn’t have given to have had a real kitchen to cook in and hundreds of pounds in cash in my wallet when I went to Borough Market. I’m one of those people that loves grocery shopping, cooking and baking, so this place was a dream come true. If I lived in London, this would be my every Saturday morning ritual.

The market is a maze of partially indoor, partially outdoor stalls and booths of the most wonderful things. Fresh produce was plentiful – I mean look at these berries.

IMG_9595

Walk further and you’ll find stacks and stacks of bread, pastries and doughnuts. Turn the corner and there will be wines, cheeses and fancy things like truffle oil.

One section has all of the meat and fish, which was pretty smelly, but once you get past that you are in baked good paradise. Teeny tiny french delicacies, giant cookies and individual savory pies in cute boxes. It’s a wonder I didn’t spend all of my money.

After making a few purchases I made my way across the street to a Costa (they’re like the Starbucks of the UK) for a quiet morning of coffee and people watching. It was a simple, peaceful morning to remember.

I LEFT MY HEART AT BOROUGH MARKET

Leave a comment